Don’t Be Fooled By Fake Midnight Sun!
Posted by Twilight_News - 10/09/09 at 01:09 pmThis just posted on Stephenie Meyer’s official website:
“Hi. I hope everyone is having a great week.
It has come to my attention through several concerned emails that many popular websites like MySpace and Facebook are displaying ads offering a chance to win Midnight Sun. This is a hoax. I would advise against giving out any personal information or even clicking on the links.”
Also, we are getting emails about this website that claims to “be in the know” about Breaking Dawn casting. People want to know if the information is correct. Among other things the site states that, “No part of this blog may be reproduced, posted, or redistributed in any form or by any means electronic or mechanical including photocopy or recording or any information storage or retrieval system without the permission in writing from the publisher.” (Actually under Fair Use laws you can quote brief sections with attribution like we have done here.) We’re finding it interesting that their information on Breaking Dawn is copied word-for-word without credit or citation from the Breaking Dawn section on Wikipedia. The site also lists that Bryce Dallas Howard and Xavier Samuel will be in Breaking Dawn while leaving out the names of several Cullens. The same site three weeks ago was listing that the movie would be in three parts. Like we said, use your own common sense here folks.
« Chaske Spencer: Radar Online Interview | Home | New Filming Pictures »
talenthunter has been sending me things from breaking dawn and from eclips saying that they were interested in me,all i would have to do is write the talentscout tell them about myself then there would be a chance to get my name out there and maybe i could get a chance to tryout for a movie extra.i only filled out for the free membership and now that its over they want me to upgrade to gold to read my messages from the people who keep seending me things from the twilight saga.i wont put in my info cuz you never know if its real or not.thats why ive been a pest everywhere cuz im tring to find out if this is real or not.ive also filled out for explore talent that was up on one of the twilight sites calling for movie extras.never did i put my personal info up there.i dont trust alot of people.it would be nice if it was true cuz that would be a chance of a lifetime to be apart of something so special.thanks for putting the info up here so that others can be protected.so are they looking for extras in any of the movies?if so would you let me know my email is chasity_pugh@yahoo.com thanks alot for all that you do.
I saw an add on facebook that said you could get all five twilight books for free, even midnight sun. And that all you had to do was fill out your shipping information. I knew it was a hoax, since I keep up to date on this and other valid sites, even Stephenies. So I knew better. Midnight Sun and offering books for free were the red flags…not to mention wanting personal info. But I wondered how many people would be fooled. It’s really sad that there are people like this out there. Please be careful out there.
I’m afraid that will be one more reason to SM gets so pissed & doesn’t finish Midnight Sun @ all… So sad, ‘cuz of some crooked ppl we’ll pay for something we didn’t do… SO SORRY SM
!!!!!
I would just like to point out that those reports are not referring to the website itself, but the google ads that are generated on the website in response to keywords in the site. The owner has no control over those ads, and you should not be giving the site a bad name. I’ve known it to be a very reliable site in terms of acting and agent information. After all, it is, first and foremost, and acting blog, not a “Breaking Dawn information blog.” It’s main purpose is not to provide details about the twilight stories. That is what this lexicon does. The site just provides the industry details.
Also, while it may be true that the details are direct from wikipedia, that is just until the entertainment industry has been provided with a formal release about the production details. I’m assuming that the manager of the site didn’t know the storyline, but is going to stay on top of the production details, and thus needed to have a way to get at least a general description of the product.
I would really appreciate it if you didn’t make assumptions about a website’s viability just because it doesn’t have every single detail correct. It isn’t fair to give it a bad reputation; it has been very helpful to me on numerous occasions.
We’ve asked people to execute common sense in judging how much valid information that site has as it specifically relates to Breaking Dawn. A site that in its own words “has talked to inside sources”, and yet those inside sources don’t seem to know who would be involved in the next film, or perhaps the site op wasn’t that interested in checking those facts. We didn’t use any more or less innuendo than that site op did in our post.
As to the lifting of material, we’re still finding it ironic that while the site op is keen not to have others take his information, he apparently has no compunction about taking the work of others without citation or credit.
hi=)if your referring to me i wasent tring to bash anyones site at all i was just asking some ?s.i want to be sure of something before i go any further .the peeps on lexicon wrote me back on twitter so i wanted to find out any info if they could give me any.im sorry to offend you or anyone that was not my inten at all im not that kinda person.sorry
i hope this doesnt make Stephanie want to postpone MS later!!! i hate it whe people who dont care ruin things for us true fans
I really hate the people who tried to fake Midnight Sun. Stephenie said that she’ll start writing Edward’s perspective when everybody forgets about the leak(it’s not like it’s ever going to happen, but she wanted everyone to atleast not talk about it). And now, who knows if we’ll ever get a chance to read Midnight Sun due to some idiotic people. I absolutely need to read it. Ever since I’ve read the first chapter(I didn’t read the leaked chapters), I’ve been dying to read the rest.
I saw that ad on Facebook. It said that you could win the 4 books and the brand new 5th one. I clicked on the freaking link, and it just said win the 4 books. I was like, “Stupid ad. If Midnight Sun was out, I would know. That is absurd.” I really hope that she does finish it though. Stephenie hasn’t pusblished any books in the past year.
stephanie,
please finish midnight sun. it was so awesome to understand what Edward was going through. It is such a great partial book and i’d love to read the whole thing….plus, it was getting to the good part…the first kiss and the first time they actually verbally devote themselves to eachother. don’t leave us hanging…it’s wrong….such a tease!!!